APC Forum

R-Candy

TranslucentDragon

Hey Everyone,

So I've been searching through the forums and, of course, the mighty Google and found a couple threads about RCandy but mostly they were about how they burned and not how they were made. I'm wondering if anyone can give me a tutorial or just tell me how to make rocket candy(the recrystallization process with corn syrup as well as sugar and KNO3) as well as the science behind how it all "works". This might be an odd request but I actually want this to be a thread where a bunch of people come together and describe a bunch of different varieties of how it's made(not just the before mentioned version) so there will be a place for beginners to see how they can make the glorious stuff. Thanks everyone.

As a real newbie, I look forward to gleaning a lot of knowledge and advice from the wise sages of this forum. I would like to start with something simple and "safe". I will try not to ask to many boneheaded questions.

By no standard am I a sage, and I'm sure you will find much better info from someone else, but here goes...

Firstly, let me recommend that you read Richard Nakka's work on his site here http://www.nakka-rocketry.net/

Also, I have a hard time believing that you couldn't find ANY info on how it is made... Did you really look? I only ask because there is SO MUCH info about how to make it available online. I will however patronize you, because I know when there is too much info on a subject and so many different approaches/opinions it can become overwhelming until you have a bit of understanding.