APC Forum

This has most likely been asked before, but what are some safe-ish and easily accessible things one could do to get used to/understand the basics of pyrotechnics?

notawaffle

I am very new to this, and have just recently stumbled upon this forum due through a video featuring it as a source. I have a somewhat understanding of how they work on a chemical level, and how to safely mess around with them, but I have done nothing yet. as I don't think I should just jump right in to making nitroglycerin or black powder, despite knowing how to manufacture both of them, this is also my first time using a web forum like this, so I may seem a bit inexperienced. 

Welcome to the community..!!

Be patient for few days to month until you are familiar to pyro world and dont attempt anything practically instead just keep on studying searching different things on this forum.

Try to study chemicals their uses and so on....

• Like 1

14 minutes ago, Zumber said:

Welcome to the community..!!

Be patient for few days to month until you are familiar to pyro world and dont attempt anything practically instead just keep on studying searching different things on this forum.

Try to study chemicals their uses and so on....

Thanks for the welcome and suggestion, is there anything you think would be good for me to start with in particular?

Generally getting a good process to manufacture black powder is best. It's the basis of at least involved for a huge amount of pyro. 

• Thanks 1

Reading the material safety data sheets for all the chemicals you add to your collection and thoroughly studying what chemicals should not be mixed together is a very good start.  

Reading proper safety and manufacture processes is also essential.

Black powder is a great composition to start with as it is so versatile and the major component of most pyrotechnic devices.

Definitely stay away from flash and whistle compositions in the beginning until you get used to safe preparation and handling.