APC Forum

Safety Precautions for Handling Potassium Nitrate in Pyrotechnic Compositions

kristenbrown

Hello, members, I'm relatively new to the field of pyrotechnics and am currently working on a project that involves the use of potassium nitrate in various compositions. I understand that potassium nitrate is a common oxidizer in pyrotechnics, but I'm concerned about the safety precautions that should be taken while handling and storing it. Could anyone share detailed guidelines or best practices for safely working with potassium nitrate?

Can you mention specific compositions?

Potassium nitrate is relatively safe It is major ingredient of black powder it does not create much problem in black powder and have almost stable with friction and impact only it ignites if there is spark created somehow.

If it is used in flash it creates problem and not stable with strong friction and impact.

Flash is relatively safe but you have to avoid friction and impact for every flash powder irrespective of oxidizer.

In presence of aluminium powder if it comes in contact with water or moisture it reacts (all nitrates) with aluminium to produce ammonia and composition heats up ( read about this in detail) and causes thermal runway in such case 1 percent boric acid neutralize this reaction.

1 hour ago, Zumber said:

Potassium nitrate is relatively safe It is major ingredient of black powder it does not create much problem in black powder and have almost stable with friction and impact only it ignites if there is spark created somehow.

If it is used in flash it creates problem and not stable with strong friction and impact.

Flash is relatively safe but you have to avoid friction and impact for every flash powder irrespective of oxidizer.