APC Forum

Diagnosing "wimpy" 0.5g firecrackers. 70/30 flash

JohnWI

I decided to start my studies with what I thought would be the most basic of salutes. As I mentioned, I'm a chemist by training, and have a GREAT DEAL of respect for all things "energetic".  I rolled some cardstock 3/4" cases, and prepared flash (mixing via rollilng on wax paper) in small quantities (a couple grams at a time).  All the precautions--PPE, outdoors, away from structures. Leather gloves.  I have no intentions of ending up in jail, hospitals, or morgues.

In any case,  I wanted to make something with a respectable "pop", but nothing that would boom, or fall into really destructive device territory.

I fired a few of them today.   I'm using german dark aluminum and K-perchlorate, both purchased from a recommended pyro supplier.

I didn't have proper end plugs, so I used 3/4 cardstock disks (3/4 is almost exactly the diameter of disks used in 12ga shotgun shell shot covers).  I glued them in place, and used several layers of craft paper, modpodge, and white glue to secure them.  When you press on the dried disks, their is no flex at all.  I think they are really strongly adhered.

They do "pop", but I was really unimpressed.  At 0.5 gram, I was expecting a sharper "crack".  This just sounded smaller and deader than I was expecting, with a surprising amount of white smoke.  I could not find fragments of the cases to examine further.

I'm suspecting that, since we have been getting around 4" of rain a week for 2 months, things are just damp.  My perchlorate arrived finally powdered, but already in a few weeks is developing clumps. They are easy to break up, but this must be evidence of excess water?  The paper cases, also stored in the basement, were actually kind of "squishy" too.  A couple hours in the sun and they are rock hard.