APC Forum

Silver strobe star comp

Almostparadise

How does this look for a first attempt at strobe stars? Recipe seems straight forward enough. Anything i should take note of w this comp? Nitrate strobes seemed a likely starting place for an intro into strobe comps. Planning to pump with water plus 25% ipa. I'm not sure about the aluminum though. I've no straight 325 mesh.  I have Eckhart 120 atomized (200-325 mesh), and 30 micron atomized. Was going to start w the Eckhart 120 and hope it would be close enough to work.

Silver strobe stars

40  kno3

20  al atomized 325 mesh

10  Sulfer

5  Dextrin

1 Boric acid

It says stars must be bigger than 4mm otherwise they may not work. Why would this be?? Ty very much for any input and or advice before i attempt this.

I have no experience with atomized aluminium strobe but 200 mesh 50:50 works great.

Try out Bleser's white strobe if you have magnelium.

I never pump strobe stars I use 4 mm rolled star with 2 to 3 mm prime

I've only coarse 30-60 mesh magnelium atm. Plenty of aluminum though. I'm still looking for a way to use the 60 mesh granular AL I bought eons ago because it was dirt cheap. 

Is it just personal preference that you only roll strobe stars? Pumping seemed well suited for a small test batch.  I'm better at rolling when I have plenty of composition. Still prone to starting with too many cores and ending up with piles of microstars and no composition. Now I  weigh the cores and it's getting better. 

Pumped stars usually contain more water than other star methods. Sometimes water prevents stars functioning as hoped.

Aside from pressed stars i thought pumped (hand rammed) stars typically had little water? I'm generally between 5-8% w my home made single star pumps. They always dry quicker than my rolled stars. 

2 hours ago, Almostparadise said: