APC Forum

Coating procedure for treating Mg with dichromate

Halorache

Hi !

I'm not totally beginner into pyro, but I'm still a newbie about coating magnesium powders. I've both 400mesh Mg powder and potassium dichromate, but I wonder know what is the procedure. I suppose it's not only mixing them. Can you help me about this ?

Thank you very much !

I’d bought some a few moons ago. Din’t realize what I had until I looked further into it. 

Proceed with caution.

49 minutes ago, Halorache said:

Thank you very much for the answers, guys !

Do you know if the same kind of file exists for aluminium - boric acid process, SharkWhisperer ?

You just dont need to coat aluminium powder with boric acid,

Just dissolve 1 percent in water and use this water to damp star composition its so easy.......If aluminium is already stearin coated which is added while manufacturing aluminium powder to avoid sticking of aluminium foils together while manufacturing Al powder there is no need to add boric powder. 

2 hours ago, Zumber said:

You just dont need to coat aluminium powder with boric acid,

Just dissolve 1 percent in water and use this water to damp star composition its so easy.......If aluminium is already stearin coated which is added while manufacturing aluminium powder to avoid sticking of aluminium foils together while manufacturing Al powder there is no need to add boric powder. 

I guess german dark Al is not coated ?

1 hour ago, Halorache said:

I guess german dark Al is not coated ?

Use boric acid 1 to 2 percent if you are not sure......dissolve boric acid in water and use this water to damp composition.

16 hours ago, Zumber said:

Use boric acid 1 to 2 percent if you are not sure......dissolve boric acid in water and use this water to damp composition.

Is it better to dissolve with acetone ? It will dry faster and it's more compatible with some materials which hate water... no ?

2 hours ago, Halorache said: