APC Forum

Beginners need to know info--safety and legality newb questions

JohnWI

I'm glad this forum has a newbie section.  I've been reading up on pyrotechnics--as subject I've been fascinated with for a long time, but never pursued to make.  As I mentioned in another post, I'm a chemist by training and profession, and am proud to say I've never had a fire or explosion.    

I would like to pursue the craft and art of pyrotechnics, but I can't seem to find clear information regarding legalities.  I know large devices (grams--m-80s, cherry bombs, "boomers") can get one's butt in a great deal of trouble.  I obviously don't need the ATF knocking on my door!

Is their some kind of permit that can keep someone in the clear legally?  Not for the large "destructive devices".  I mean loud, but reasonable devices (less than a gram of flash).  Maybe with some study, some more ambitious stuff.

Also, as far as safety, can someone direct me to information on accidents?  Ie, what happened, and why did it happen?  I realize by it's very nature flash powder is potentially dangerous. That said, I'm an avid reloader and have safely used many pounds of smokeless powder, and have installed many thousand of primers without incident.

It's unfortunate, but as I scan the web, their seems to be a lot of "hold my beer..." information.  Someone on Youtube pouring 2 pounds of perchlorate into 1 pound of aluminum powder and crushing around in it with a metal spoon.  3 POUNDS of flash powder, a foot away from your face?  Err, no thanks.  Other sources say to mix a "reasonable amount" at a time--to make what you use, store the components separately.   What is a reasonable amount to mix in one go?