APC Forum

First post--a couple questions about various large firecrackers. Why are the cases only about half full?

JohnWI

Hello folks, first post on this forum.

I'm a chemist by training, but have had a lifelong interest in pyro.  That said, I have never manufactured any (in the name of safety and legality).  I'm trying to brush up on some legalities and ordered a couple of books on the subject.   So, that said, my questions here are purely academic.  I have never, and will not until I legally can, produced any pyro devices.

My question are regarding larger firecrackers of the M-80 or cherry bomb sized devices (which were commonly, although illegally available during my youth).  It seems that they were maybe 1/2 full of flash powder.  I tried doing a little research, and am wondering if their was an actual reason for that (ie, the dead air space, for whatever reason, made the devices louder)? or if it was some kind of marketing ploy--ie, a bigger tube implied a more powerful device, whether it was true or not.

Another was with the use of sulfur in flash compositions.  Several sources claimed it made for a more vigorous, louder report, while others claimed the addition of sulfur did little more than destablize the composition and make it more sensitive--perhaps dangerously so.   Can anyone vouch for whether sulfur is or is not a good component of flashpower (perch./aluminum powder).

Thanks!  Again, these are academic questions.  I have no intention of building any of these devices.  Certainly not until I'm confident about the rules and safety issues.

There is, in professional manufacture, a constant demand to minimise cost, so leaving an air space inside MAY simply be a cost reduction measure. Maybe there is also something to do with flame propagation through a packed solid vs propagation through a dust cloud in the microseconds between ignition and the case  bursting.